It is no secret that Arizona has become tougher on drunk driving in recent
years. Drunk driving accidents are tragic reminders that a small number
of motorists can be deadly hazards on the road.
Because of this, drunk drivers can be charged with a number of DUI violations
that match their reported blood alcohol levels as well as property damage
(and injuries) that may stem from the offense.
Drivers who are found to have blood alcohol levels above .08 (and below
.15) can be charged with driving under the influence. DUI is a class 1
misdemeanor that is punishable with one day in jail and up to $750 in
fines. Offenders also face a 90 day administrative license suspension.
For drivers caught with a blood alcohol level greater than .15 (and below.20),
they face charges of
extreme DUI. They face up to 30 days in jail and a host of fines, including a $1000
assessment to the state prison fund, a $1000 assessment to the state public
safety fund as well as $250 for a DUI assessment. In addition to the 90
day administrative license suspension, offenders must install an ignition
interlock system on their vehicle and maintain it for one year.
Drivers caught with a blood alcohol level greater than .20 can be charged
with super extreme DUI. This charge is punishable by a mandatory minimum
of 45 days in jail and up to $3000 in administrative fines and penalties.
Offenders will also be required to maintain an ignition interlock system
for at least 18 months.
If you have questions about the criminal consequences you face if
charged with a DUI, contact a Phoenix DUI attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C.
Drunk Driving Fines and Penalties in Arizona