Were You Convicted of DUI in Another State?
If you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona, it
is important to advise your criminal defense attorney if you have had
prior DUI or alcohol-related convictions in other states. It is a critical consideration
because this could be used against you in your current DUI case. Not only
could the current charge be enhanced, but you could be charged as a repeat
offender—which brings harsher penalties than a first-time offense.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Arizona with an out-of-state
DUI on your record, it is highly recommended that you
contact a Phoenix criminal defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C.
How an Out-of-State DUI Conviction Factors Into Your Case
If you are
charged with DUI in Arizona and prosecutors learn that you had a prior drunk driving conviction
in Colorado, for example, they could ask that your prior conviction be
considered in your sentencing. This is where a Phoenix criminal defense
lawyer can be helpful. Your attorney can analyze the specific charges
and make persuasive arguments that the prior conviction is not the same
as (or unrelated to) your current case.
A perfect example is the difference between Colorado's driving while
alcohol impaired (DWAI) law and Arizona's DUI law. In order to be
charged with DWAI, a driver must only consume alcohol to the point that
his or her ability to drive has been impaired "to the slightest degree."
State law establishes a blood-alcohol limit of .05-.08% for this offense.
Conversely, a driver can only be charged with DUI in Arizona if his or
her BAC is .08% or above.
Experienced legal counsel could argue that the statutory mandates are considerably
different because they are meant to punish different levels of impairment,
and that a slight level of impairment does not equate to drunk driving
under Arizona law. If they are successful, you may be able to avoid enhanced
criminal charges—and, thus, penalties for a second or third DUI
conviction—which is why you should waste no time in hiring an attorney.
The Penalties for a Repeat DUI Offense in Arizona
As previously mentioned, it is possible for an out-of-state DUI conviction
to be factored into your current DUI charge. This means that, if you are
convicted, you could face penalties for a
second or third DUI offense.
In Arizona, the penalties for a second DUI offense can include:
- Between 30 days and 6 months in jail
- Up to $3,000 in fines and court fees
Installation of an
ignition interlock device
- Driver’s license suspension for one year
Contact Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. for an Aggressive Defense
Have you been arrested for drunk driving with an out-of-state DUI conviction
on your record? If so, it is important to act quickly. Contact a criminal
defense lawyer at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. to learn more about your
options. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; you can count
on us to be there when you need us most.
If you have questions about how prior DUI convictions may affect your case,
contact a DUI defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. We represent
clients throughout Phoenix and offer
free, no-obligation consultations.