Arrested for Assault in Phoenix, Arizona?
Get Started on Your Defense with a Free Consultation
Assault charges can arise from many different situations, from bar fights to
domestic violence. Regardless of how it started, however, one thing is true: the consequences
can be serious. It takes a seasoned criminal defense lawyer with in-depth
legal knowledge to protect your interests throughout every step of the
criminal process. Richard Suzuki is that lawyer. With experience at the
local, state, and federal levels, Attorney Suzuki knows how to fight an
If you or someone you love was arrested for assault, now is the time to
contact a Phoenix criminal defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C.
We are available 24/7, so please don’t wait to
schedule your free case evaluation.
The Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault in Arizona
In Arizona, simple assault is a misdemeanor offense that occurs when one
person uses threats or physical force to put another person in fear of
suffering injury or bodily harm. According to Arizona Revised Statutes
(ARS § 13-1203), simple assault charges could be categorized as a
Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3 misdemeanor. The penalties are as follows:
Class 3 misdemeanor: Simple assault is classified as a Class 3 misdemeanor if the alleged offender
touched another person with intent to provoke or injure them. A conviction
could result in up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.
Class 2 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 2 misdemeanor if the alleged
offender threatened to injure or harm another person. A conviction could
result in up to four months in jail and $750 in fines.
Class 1 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor if the assault
resulted in actual physical injuries to another person. A conviction could
result in up to six months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Aggravating Factors Could Elevate Your Assault Charge
Aggravated assaulted is a felony offense that is punished more severely
than simple assault. Although circumstances vary from case to case, there
are certain aggravating factors that can elevate an assault charge to
aggravated assault. These factors include causing physical injury, using a deadly weapon
or dangerous instrument, restraining a person, entering a person’s
home to commit assault, or committing simple assault on a police officer
or child under the age of 15.
Ready to Get Started? Contact Us 24/7 for the Help You Need.
Depending on the
violent crime charge and the facts of your case, your potential sentence and the consequences
you face could vary greatly. The courts address each situation differently,
looking at your prior criminal record and what the alleged victim has
to say. Charges could range from the simple threat of violence to inflicting
bodily harm on someone.
At Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C., we do everything in our power to reduce
the consequences of an assault charge. Our Phoenix criminal defense lawyers
work with you to ensure your rights and freedom are protected throughout
the process. To get started, contact Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. at (602)
842-6762 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.