Facing Child Abuse Charges in Phoenix?
Protect Your Future: Call a Phoenix Criminal Lawyer
Allegations of child abuse can change a person's life, even if he or
she is never found guilty. People are often judged harshly when they are
accused of abuse. In addition to losing contact with their children, many
face criminal charges. At Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C., we defend people against
violent crime charges in Arizona. Our criminal defense attorneys are dedicated to achieving
the best possible results for clients, offering the support and guidance
they need during this difficult time.
How Child Abuse Is Defined Under Arizona Law
Under the law, several different actions can be categorized as child abuse.
According to Arizona Revised Statutes § 13.3623, an individual can
be charged with child abuse if they cause a child to suffer physical injury,
cause or permit a child to be injured while under their care, or cause
or permit a child to placed in a situation where their well-being is endangered.
Under the law, any of the following actions would be considered abuse:
- Knowingly neglecting or abandoning a child
- Inflicting injury or allowing a child to be injured
Sexual conduct with a minor or
- Bringing a child to an area where drugs are produced
- Causing the unreasonable confinement of a child
- Causing serious emotional damage to a child
If you or someone you love was arrested for child abuse, please contact
a Phoenix criminal defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. as soon
as possible. We are available 24/7 to review your case in a
free initial consultation.
How the Severity of Your Charges Will Be Decided
In Arizona, child abuse is a felony; however, the charges can range from
a class 6 felony to a class 2 felony, depending on the case. For example,
if the abuse is likely to produce injury or death, the defendant will
face more serious charges.
When child abuse is likely to produce death or serious physical injury:
- If the abuse was intentional, the offense is a class 2 felony
- If the abuse was reckless, the offense is a class 3 felony
- If the abuse was criminally negligent, it’s is a class 4 felony
When child abuse is not likely to produce death or serious physical injury:
- If the abuse was intentional, the offense is a class 4 felony
- If the abuse was reckless, the offense is a class 5 felony
- If the abuse was criminally negligent, it’s a class 6 felony
What Are the Penalties for Child Abuse in Arizona?
Class 6 felony – up to 1.5 years in prison and $750 to $150,000 in fines
Class 5 felony – up to 2 years in prison and $750 to $150,000 in fines
Class 4 felony – up to 3 years in prison and $750 to $150,000 in fines
Class 3 felony – up to 7 years in prison and $750 to $150,000 in fines
Class 2 felony – up to 10 years in prison and $750 to $150,000 in fines
Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. Is Ready to Defend Your Rights
Before entering private practice, Attorney Richard Suzuki gained valuable
experience working as a Deputy Maricopa County Attorney and Assistant
U.S. Attorney. His experience in federal court and his insights into prosecution
tactics provide an invaluable advantage to clients facing serious felony
charges such as child abuse. If you have been arrested, our Phoenix criminal
defense lawyers are ready to protect your rights. Contact Suzuki Law Offices,
L.L.C. today to get started.
Protect your rights by
contacting Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. at (602) 842-6762
free and confidential consultation
today. To better serve our clients, Richard Suzuki and Matthew Bartz are
fluent in both English and Spanish.