Phoenix Underage DWI Defense Attorneys
Turn to Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. for Help
When a person is found guilty of
driving while intoxicated before they reach the age of 21, the consequences will often affect their
future. A conviction for underage DWI can affect a person's college
opportunities and employment options. Oftentimes, teens lose out on scholarships
or important internships, and they have a challenging time seeking gainful
The best way to prevent these consequences is to take action as soon as
possible. At Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C., we take action the moment we
take on a DUI case. As former state and federal prosecutors and experienced
criminal defense attorneys, we have helped thousands of clients protect
their interests when facing criminal charges in Phoenix.
Was your son or daughter charged with underage DWI in Arizona?
Contact us for a free case review.
Underage DUI / DWI Laws in Arizona
Arizona law is strict on underage drunk driving. According to
A.R.S. § 4-244 (34), drivers under the age of 21 will be punished if they are found to be
driving with any alcohol in their systems, even the slightest amount.
As a minor, you could be arrested for DUI or DWI if a breathalyzer test
registers a BAC as low as .01%. You don't actually need to be intoxicated.
The penalties for an underage DUI conviction may include:
- Maximum of six months in county jail
- Up to $2,500 in fines & various costs
- Two-year driver’s license suspension
- Potential community service hours
Other Charges Related to Underage Drinking
In addition to being charged with underage DUI, a minor could face penalties
for related charges like underage consumption of alcohol, possession of
alcohol by a minor, and presenting a fake ID to purchase alcohol. If you
or your child has been arrested for any type of underage drinking offense,
contact a Phoenix DUI attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C.
Underage consumption of alcohol: If a minor is caught drinking alcohol, whether or not they were driving,
they could be arrested for “underage consumption.” This is
a misdemeanor offense that could lead to $500 in fines, a two-year
driver’s license suspension and community service hours. The minor will also have a mark on their
Possession of alcohol by a minor: If a minor is caught with alcohol, they could be charged with “possession
of alcohol by a minor.” It does not necessarily need to be proven
that the minor was actually holding the alcohol; simply being near alcohol
could lead to an arrest. This offense could lead to fines, license suspension,
and community service.
Presenting a fake ID to purchase alcohol: If a minor has used or attempted to use a fake ID to buy alcohol, they
could be charged with “presenting false identification to purchase
alcohol.” This is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which could result in up
to $750 in fines, up to four months in county jail, and a mandatory alcohol
abuse treatment program.
Facing Charges for Providing Alcohol to a Minor?
In some cases, it is not just the minor who will face criminal charges.
If you allow two or more minors to consume alcohol at your residence,
you could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. In Arizona, you could
be arrested for providing alcohol to a minor or allowing them to drink
on unlicensed premises if you know, or should know, that one or more persons
under the legal drinking age is in possession of and/or consuming alcohol.
A conviction could land you in jail for six months.
Contact Our Firm 24/7 for a Free Consultation
When you work with Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C., our Phoenix DUI lawyers
will do everything in our power to reduce the consequences of your drunk
driving arrest. We make sure that your criminal matters are taken care
of so that you can spend time on what really matters: your family, friends,
and future. Give us a call today to find out how we can assist you!
To get started, protect your rights by
contacting Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. for a free case review.