It is no secret that Arizona has become tougher on drunk driving in recent years. Drunk driving accidents are tragic reminders that a small number of motorists can be deadly hazards on the road.
Because of this, drunk drivers can be charged with a number of DUI violations that match their reported blood alcohol levels as well as property damage (and injuries) that may stem from the offense.
Drivers who are found to have blood alcohol levels above .08 (and below .15) can be charged with driving under the influence. DUI is a class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable with one day in jail and up to $750 in fines. Offenders also face a 90 day administrative license suspension.
For drivers caught with a blood alcohol level greater than .15 (and below.20), they face charges of extreme DUI. They face up to 30 days in jail and a host of fines, including a $1000 assessment to the state prison fund, a $1000 assessment to the state public safety fund as well as $250 for a DUI assessment. In addition to the 90 day administrative license suspension, offenders must install an ignition interlock system on their vehicle and maintain it for one year.
Drivers caught with a blood alcohol level greater than .20 can be charged with super extreme DUI. This charge is punishable by a mandatory minimum of 45 days in jail and up to $3000 in administrative fines and penalties. Offenders will also be required to maintain an ignition interlock system for at least 18 months.
If you have questions about the criminal consequences you face if charged with a DUI, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Source: DrivingLaws.org, Drunk Driving Fines and Penalties in Arizona