In Arizona, there are serious consequences for individuals who leave the scene of an accident after causing property damage or injuring someone. If a person commits a hit and run while driving under the influence of alcohol, the charges and penalties may be even steeper. If you face DUI hit and run charges, it’s vital to obtain strong legal representation as quickly as possible. The penalties you face may affect your freedom, future, and reputation. Our Phoenix DUI lawyers explain the penalties for a DUI hit and run in Arizona.
A Driver's Obligation After a Car Accident
According to ARS 28-663, drivers have certain legal obligations when they are involved in a car accident, regardless of who was at fault.
If you are involved in a car crash, you must:
- Provide your name, address, and car registration to the other driver or police officer
- Provide your driver's license upon request
- Deliver first aid to injured motorists, or call for medical help
Failure to uphold your legal obligations can result in a Class 3 misdemeanor for a first offense. If a driver has a previous conviction or if the accident involves serious injuries or fatalities, the charge can be turned into a felony.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Charges in Arizona
In most cases, a simple DUI may result in misdemeanor charges. However, if the offense becomes more serious, such as leaving the scene of an accident, the penalties may be heftier depending on whether there is an injury, death, and which driver caused the accident.
Below are some examples of different charges for leaving the scene of an accident:
- Accidents involving death or physical injury: A driver who commits a DUI hit and run that results in another’s death or serious physical injury can be charged with a Class 2 felony.
- Accidents involving non-fatal or non-serious injury: Drivers who leave the scene (regardless of who caused it) of an accident involving a non-fatal or non-serious injury is a Class 5 felony.
- Accidents involving property damage: A driver who commits a DUI hit and run that causes property damage can be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor.
Penalties for a DUI Hit & Run
If you are charged with a hit and run DUI, you could be facing penalties ranging from up to $500 in fines and 30 days in jail for cases involving only no injuries, or up to $150,000 and 15 years in prison if death or injury occurred.
In addition to fines and jail time, you could lose your driver's license, be required to attend alcohol education, and other penalties as required by the judge.
Call Our Phoenix DUI Attorneys Today: (602) 842-6762!
If you face serious DUI hit and run charges, you need strong legal representation as quickly as possible. Having an experienced lawyer on your side will help you create a strong defense. The Phoenix DUI lawyers at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. have decades of experience helping clients facing DUI charges throughout Arizona. Our team has the knowledge, skills, and experience needed to help you obtain the best possible results for your case.
Get in touch with our Phoenix DUI lawyers today at (602) 842-6762 to schedule a virtual consultation!