Phoenix Child Molestation Lawyers
Suzuki Law Offices Can Fight Your Sex Crime Charges
If a law enforcement officer or detective approaches you concerning your possible sexual involvement with a minor, you should exercise your right to remain silent and contact a Phoenix sex crime attorney at Suzuki Law Offices as soon as possible. You may be under investigation for a "dangerous crime against children," such as child molestation, sexual assault, or sexual misconduct with a minor. Anything you say can be used against you, even a seemingly innocent statement.
When you hire Suzuki Law Offices, we will organize a comprehensive criminal defense designed to obtain a positive outcome for you. Working with our private investigator, we will thoroughly review the circumstances of your case. Defenses such as lack of knowledge of the person's age or untruthfulness on the part of the alleged victim could result in a dismissal of the charge or other satisfactory outcome. Our criminal defense lawyers will defend you every step of the way.
Have you been accused of molesting a child? Call (602) 842-6762 for a free consultation!
Arizona's Child Molestation Laws (§ 13-1410)
According to Arizona Revised Statute § 13-1410, child molestation is a crime that involves intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual contact with a child under the age of 15. Child molestation is a Class 2 felony that can carry serious punishments of up to 35years in prison.
The law also states that sexual contact can refer to touching, fondling, or any contact with genitals. If sexual intercourse or oral sex occurs between a minor under the age of 15 and an adult, the charges would be elevated to “sexual conduct with a minor”—which carries even harsher penalties under Arizona law.
The Penalties for Child Molestation in Arizona
In addition to the penalties listed below, you will be listed on the sex offender registry and placed on lifetime sex offender probation, which is intense and often times results in failure. Prosecutors do not hesitate to demand the harshest penalties in these cases. Your best option is to obtain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney in Phoenix.
In Arizona, the penalties for child molestation are severe and mandatory:
- If the victim was under 12 years of age, you will go to prison for 35 years if convicted
- If the victim was between 12 and 14, you will go to prison for 10 to 24 years if convicted
- If the victim was between 15 and 17, you could go to prison (no mandatory sentence)
Call our Phoenix Sex Crime Lawyers for a FREE Consultation!
If you have been charged with child molestation, or are simply under investigation, it would be wise to contact the team at Suzuki Law Offices as soon as possible. We provide a free case evaluation to help accused individuals learn more about their rights and the charges they face in molestation cases and other sex-related charges. During this consultation, we can also explain how we intend to protect your freedom and future.
We are available to answer your questions 24/7, so please do not hesitate to contact us today.
"He answered all my questions free of charge and was very helpful."Linda
"Richard J Suzuki is an outstanding lawyer, extremely professional and responsive. The absolute best experience, my family and I were beyond content with the overall outcome."Rosa
"When I got into trouble with the law I didn’t know where to turn. Mr. O’Sullivan was immediately assigned to my case and I felt a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders."Justine F
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (602) 842-6762.