Arrested for Assault in Phoenix, Arizona?
Get Started on Your Defense with a Free Consultation
Assault charges can arise from many different situations, from bar fights to domestic violence. Regardless of how it started, however, one thing is true: the consequences can be serious. It takes a seasoned criminal defense lawyer with in-depth legal knowledge to protect your interests throughout every step of the criminal process. Richard Suzuki is that lawyer. With experience at the local, state, and federal levels, Attorney Suzuki knows how to fight an assault conviction.
If you or someone you love was arrested for assault, now is the time to contact a Phoenix criminal defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices. We are available 24/7, so please don’t wait to schedule your free case evaluation.
The Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault in Arizona
In Arizona, simple assault is a misdemeanor offense that occurs when one person uses threats or physical force to put another person in fear of suffering injury or bodily harm. According to Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS § 13-1203), simple assault charges could be categorized as a Class 1, Class 2, or Class 3 misdemeanor.
The penalties are as follows:
- Class 3 misdemeanor: Simple assault is classified as a Class 3 misdemeanor if the alleged offender touched another person with intent to provoke or injure them. A conviction could result in up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.
- Class 2 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 2 misdemeanor if the alleged offender threatened to injure or harm another person. A conviction could result in up to four months in jail and $750 in fines.
- Class 1 misdemeanor: Simple assault could be classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor if the assault resulted in actual physical injuries to another person. A conviction could result in up to six months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Aggravating Factors Could Elevate Your Assault Charge
Aggravated assaulted is a felony offense that is punished more severely than simple assault. Although circumstances vary from case to case, there are certain aggravating factors that can elevate an assault charge to aggravated assault. These factors include causing physical injury, using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument, restraining a person, entering a person’s home to commit assault, or committing simple assault on a police officer or child under the age of 15.
There are escalating prison terms for each level of violence. Even just threatening someone with a dangerous weapon - but not hurting the person - can result in aggravated assault with a mandatory prison sentence.
Ready to Get Started? Contact Us 24/7 for the Help You Need.
Depending on the violent crime charge and the facts of your case, your potential sentence and the consequences you face could vary greatly. The courts address each situation differently, looking at your prior criminal record and what the alleged victim has to say. Charges could range from the simple threat of violence to inflicting bodily harm on someone.
At Suzuki Law Offices, we do everything in our power to reduce the consequences of an assault charge. Our Phoenix criminal defense lawyers work with you to ensure your rights and freedom are protected throughout the process.
Our team has in-house Private Investigators that are retired from law enforcement
We are aggressive and honest in our pursuit to uphold your rights
We are a devoted and highly rated team of professional advocates
We will review your case for FREE in an initial consultation
Our firm has recovered millions of dollars for our clients
Our defense lawyers are fluent in both English and Spanish
Our attorneys have worked on the other side of the courtroom
Our team is available to take your call 24/7 – day or night