The ignition interlock device, also known as an IID, is similar to a breathalyzer machine, but it is installed in your vehicle. This device prevents your car’s engine from starting if it registers alcohol in your system. It also requires random breath samples while the car is being driven. Ignition interlock devices are intended to prevent repeat DUI offenses, and many judges across the country are ordering drivers to install and maintain these devices in more and more DUI cases.
Arizona’s IID Law Is One of the Toughest in the Nation
In Arizona, every driver convicted of DUI must have the ignition interlock device installed in their car – even first-time offenders. This means that all such drivers must pay to have the device installed and maintain the device at their own expense, in addition to providing a breath sample when driving around on their own or with friends and family.
After your driver's license has been suspended, after a breath or blood test refusal or a DUI conviction, you are required to install the ignition interlock through a dealer authorized by the Arizona Department of Transportation's Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). You must get the ignition interlock installed and verified within 30 days of getting a court order.
According to ARS § 28-1461, a person convicted of DUI must:
- Pay the costs of installing and maintaining an ignition interlock device
- Provide proof of the device in each motor vehicle operated by that person
- Provide proof of inspection for accurate operation at least once every 90 days
- Provide proof of ignition interlock compliance at least once every 90 days
Your failure to install and maintain the IID might mean that you have to keep the device in your car for another year. Or it could mean the suspension of your license and other consequences. One way to prevent this is to do all you can to defend yourself against a DUI conviction in the first place. For one year, the device will cost around $1,000.
How Long Do You Have to Use an Ignition Interlock Device?
Anyone who has been convicted of DUI in Arizona will be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle once they have served their license suspension. The period of time for which you must use this device will depend on the severity of your DUI charges. More serious charges will result in more serious penalties.
- First-time regular or extreme DUI: You must use an IID for 12 months
- Second regular or extreme DUI: You must use an IID for 12 months
- Super extreme DUI: You must use an IID for 18 months
- Second super extreme DUI: You must use an IID for 24 months
- Aggravated or felony DUI: You must use an IID for 24 months
An “extreme DUI” refers to any DUI offense where the driver has a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15-0.19%. A “super extreme DUI” refers to any DUI offense where the driver has a BAC of 0.20% or greater. Felony DUI is any DUI offense with aggravating circumstances—such as a minor in the vehicle at the time of the drunk driving arrest.
Contact Suzuki Law Offices After a DUI Arrest – Available 24/7
If you or someone you love has been arrested for DUI, you should waste no time in contacting a Phoenix criminal defense attorney at Suzuki Law Offices, L.L.C. The only way to avoid the consequence of having to install and maintain an ignition interlock device is to avoid a DUI conviction entirely. For this reason, it would be wise to consult a DUI lawyer as soon as you have been arrested. Our firm can take your call 24/7, so please do not hesitate to reach out today.
Contact our Phoenix DUI lawyers today for a FREE, no-obligation consultation: (602) 842-6762.