A DUI arrest and conviction can have an impact that goes beyond the courtroom. It affects nearly every aspect of a person’s life, from how he or she gets to work to how they are viewed by friends and family. In many ways, being arrested for driving under the influence can seriously threaten one’s freedom or future. If you have been arrested for DUI or DWI in Phoenix, you should know that you must act quickly to protect your driver’s license. You only have 15 days to request a hearing!
At Suzuki Law Offices, we look at the whole picture and not just your charges. We take a broad approach to criminal defense. In DUI cases, we represent people throughout Arizona who need legal counsel regarding driver’s license suspension. As experienced attorneys and former prosecutors, we have the in-depth knowledge necessary to protect your rights.
Committed to providing exceptional legal service to each and every client through integrity, compassion and experience.Get Started
How Long Will the License Suspension Last?
After a DUI stop, your driver’s license could be suspended for one of two reasons: your blood alcohol content exceeds the legal limit of .08% or you refuse to submit to chemical testing (blood, breath or urine). Both situations would trigger an automatic license suspension in Arizona, but the periods of suspension will vary based on the following factors.
Refusing to submit to a breath, blood or urine test:
- First offense: one-year driver’s license suspension
- Second offense: two-year driver’s license suspension
- Third offense: two-year driver’s license suspension
Driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater:
- First offense: 90-day license suspension
- Second offense: one-year license suspension
- Third offense: three-year license suspension
Phoenix License Suspensions Defense Lawyer Near Me 602-682-5270
Can the Police Take My License During a DUI Arrest?
If you are pulled over under the suspicion of driving under the influence in Arizona, and a law enforcement officer has reasonable cause to believe that you are guilty of drunk driving, they would have the right to confiscate your license on the spot. Your license would be subject to an automatic 90-day suspension, even though you have not been convicted. The government sees driving as a privilege, not a right. This means that they can take this privilege away as they see fit.
Contact Our Firm 24/7 for Your Free Consultation
If your driver’s license has been suspended, it is important to act quickly and seek a lawyer’s advice before you get into trouble for driving without a license. There are many actions that can be taken to help correct the situation. Depending on why the suspension happened, our law firm can find the best resolution to the problem. With the assistance of a skilled legal representative from Suzuki Law Offices, your interests can be protected no matter how serious the situation.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Fighting to Restore Your Driving Privileges
Was your license confiscated during a DUI arrest? You are not without options. After your license has been seized, you have 15 days to contest the suspension by scheduling a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of the Arizona Department of Transportation. This would open a civil case, which is separate from your criminal trial. At your license suspension hearing, your Phoenix attorney would need to establish that some legal insufficiency or rights violation has rendered the suspension invalid.
Some of the issues that could be raised at your MVD hearing include:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) did not exceed .08%
- The law enforcement officer did not have probable cause to stop you
- You did not actually refuse to submit to a breath or blood test
- You were not informed that a refusal would have consequences