Breaking Down the Costs of a DUI Conviction
To start, a first-time DUI conviction will result in up to $2,500 in fines. Drivers may also be ordered to undergo alcohol screening tests and counseling classes, which can run upwards of $500. Additionally, they may be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device for a certain amount of time, which may run more than $1,000 overall.
Drivers with DUIs may also be required to purchase SR-22 insurance, which is generally higher than coverage for people without criminal records. In Arizona, those who have been convicted of DUI will typically pay $3,000 more for insurance each year. And, they may be required to have SR-22 insurance for up to three years. This can really add up.
Committed to providing exceptional legal service to each and every client through integrity, compassion and experience.Get Started
To recap, the minimum costs of a misdemeanor DUI in Arizona include:
- Up to $2,500 in fines and court costs
- Around $500 for classes and counseling
- About $1,000 for an ignition interlock device
- Up to $3,000 more per year in insurance
Hiring a DUI Defense Lawyer: Is It Worth the Money?
If you have been charged with DUI, you may be asking yourself, “Is it really worth it to hire an attorney?” After all, quality representation isn’t free. However, the long-term costs of a DUI are substantial, and by hiring a Phoenix DUI lawyer, you increase your chances of avoiding a conviction altogether—including the costs that come along with it.
You also increase your chances of avoiding other consequences, such as the suspension of your driver’s license, a permanent mark on your criminal record, probation, and the stigma associated with being a criminal offender. When you work with Suzuki Law Offices, we will work vigorously to defend your rights, freedom, and reputation.